How to start a WISP

Do you have any advice for people who want to start a WISP?

In 2016 I saw this video on YouTube: " Community Built Wireless ISP - Doe Bay Internet Users Association" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBiBLG9wnDU

That is when I fell in love with the idea of starting a WISP.

It was disappointing however that I found very little practical information on how to do it when searching online.

Reddit was the best resource, but there was no one post I could point to that presented the process of building a WISP from start to finish, just ideas here and there that started to put the picture together.

I studied the different hardware offered by Ubiquiti and learned the big concepts:

1. Get a POP location in an urban area where you have access to fiber and can buy a metered internet connection that allows resale.
  2. Use some backhauls to pump that internet out to the (probably countryside) location where you want to deliver it.
  3. Deliver the internet from a PtMP to a CPE.

Getting customers for this type of business is pretty straight forward I think. You do your research and you only go into an area where you know you can provide a substantially better and cheaper connection to a small geo-specific group of people. Go door to door or mail them to let them know about the new service. Give discounts if they let you put an advertisement on their lawn.

I lived in an area at the time where this was viable. In Valparaiso, Indiana the city just had a big fiber initiative, yet homes just a few miles away were on DSL still without cable available.

I put together a business plan, and was surprised how cheap Ubiquiti equipment was. This is a business that can be started for just a few thousand dollars.

Ultimately where my plan broke down was:

1. I didn’t know how/where/who to get the fiber connection and POP location.
  2. I didn’t know how to get access to the buildings/water towers to backhaul the connection out.